James Campbell

From Shetland History Online
Jump to: navigation, search

Reverend James Archibald Campbell (b. 15 January 1845, Douglas, Isle of Man, d. 9 May 1922, Fetlar) was a Minister and a County Councillor for Fetlar between 1890 and 1892. He was educated at the University of Aberdeen (MA, 1865). He invented the Campbell differential screw fine adjustment for microscopes.

His son, John, also represented Fetlar from 1937 until 1945.


James Archibald Campbell, was educated at University of Aberdeen; M.A. (1865) and licenced by Presbytery of Lerwick 8th July 1868. He was the assistant at Huntly 1869-1871, Banff, February to July 1872; ord. to Quarter Chapel 10th October 1872; trans. adm. 27th September 1881; died 9th May 1922. He was interested in most scientific mater and was a skilful amateur mechanic. He made his own microscope, both instrument and the objectives and eye-pieces, also a fine dioptric telescope, calculating, grinding, and polishing the object-glass and eye-pieces. He invented the Campbell differential screw fine adjustment for microscopes. He marr. At Banff 13th Jan. 1875, Eliza Wallace, daughter of James Hunter, and had issue: John Archibald, master mariner, born 25th December 1875; Grace Craig Hunter, born 20th September 1877 (marr. David Crawford, min. of Midmar); James, M.B., Lieut. R.A.M.C., born 24th October 1879; Jane Menzies, born 23rd December 1881 (marr. 29th November 1904, Robert B. Turnbull, M.B., Ch.B., New Zealand); Elizabeth Hunter, born 22nd November 1883; Lilias Anne Turnbull, born 17th March 1886; Nelson, Sumatra, born 1st September 1890, lieut. R.A.F., Egypt and Palestine Expedition.

Political Career

External Links

Zetland County Council
Constituency created Member for

Succeeded by
William Glover
Fetlar County Councillors
Councillors James Campbell (1890-1892) • William Glover (1893-1895) • Arthur T. B. Nicolson (1895-1917) • Arthur J. Nicolson (1917-1932) • William Carson (1932-1937) • John Campbell (1937-1945) • Charles Brown (1945-1967) • Arthur Johnson (1967-1970) • John Laurenson (1970-1975)