Robert Baikie

From Shetland History Online
Jump to: navigation, search

Robert Baikie (b. unknown, d. 4 April 1817) was a Member of Parliament for Orkney and Shetland from 1781 was elected as MP to represent the constituency of Orkney & Shetland, on 10th October 1780, replacing Thomas Dundas, he serving until 1781 when the seat was taken by Charles Dundas


Baikie was oldest the son of James Baikie of Tankerness and his wife Janet, a daughter of William Douglas, and heiress of the Monteiths of Egilshay. His father was provost of Kirkwall during the Jacobite rising of 1745, and was paid a pension by the Earls of Morton for his support of their electoral interests.

However, in 1766 James Douglas, 14th Earl of Morton sold all his interests in Orkney to Sir Lawrence Dundas. At the 1768 general election Sir Lawrence installed as the Member of Parliament (MP) for Orkney and Shetland his older brother Thomas Dundas, who was returned unopposed. Thomas stood down in 1770, and the following year Thomas's son Captain Thomas Dundas was elected unopposed. He was returned unopposed at the 1774 general election.

However, Sir Lawrence had alienated both the lairds and merchants of Orkney. When he opposed Lord North's government, the Orkney opposition received £300 from secret service funds to support a government candidate. Baikie was chosen to stand, and at the 1780 general election, Baikie was elected as the Member of Parliament (MP) for Orkney and Shetland by 11 votes to the 5 won Sir Lawrence's nephew Charles Dundas.[4] However, Baikie's election had been achieved only by excluding seven supporters of Dundas, and after an election petition the seat was awarded to Dundas on 28 February 1781. Baikie stood again at the 1784, but was defeated by 12 votes to 7 by the returned Colonel Thomas Dundas.

Parliament of Great Britain
Preceded by
Thomas Dundas Snr
Member of Parliament for
Orkney and Shetland

Succeeded by
Charles Dundas
Members of the Parliament of Great Britain
MPs Alexander Douglas (1707-1713) • George Douglas (1713-1715) • James Moodie (1715-1722) • George Douglas (1722-1730) • Robert Douglas (1730-1747) • John Halyburton (1747-1754) • James Douglas (1754-1768) • Thomas Dundas (1768-1771) • Thomas Dundas (1771-1780) • Robert Baikie (1780-1781) • Charles Dundas (1781-1784) • Thomas Dundas (1784-1790) • John Balfour (1790-1796) • Robert Honyman (1796-1801)